16th Annual VES Awards Winners Announced

The Visual Effects Society (VES) recognizes and honors the most outstanding visual effects work of the year and honors the artists who created them. And the winners of this years’ VES Awards have been announced.

ves awards logoHere’s the short list of VES Awards Winners

“War for the Planet of the Apes” was the top photoreal feature film with 4 awards.

“Coco” was best animated feature film with 4 awards.

“Game of Thrones” won the best photoreal episode with 5 awards.

Samsung “Do What You Can’t; Ostrich” was tops in the commercial field with 3 wins.

Did your favorite visual effects work get a VES award? See the full list of winners  at visualeffectssociety.com.

President of Marvel Studios Kevin Feige presented the VES Lifetime Achievement Award to acclaimed producer-writer-director Jon Favreau.  Academy-Award winning producer Jon Landau presented the Georges Méliès Award to Academy Award-winning visual effects master Joe Letteri, VES.  Awards presenters included fan favorite Mark Hamill, Coco director Lee Unkrich, War for the Planet of the Apes director Matt Reeves, Academy Award nominee Diane Warren, Jaime Camil, Dan Stevens, Elizabeth Henstridge, Sydelle Noel, Katy Mixon and Gabriel “Fluffy” Iglesias.